NRA-PVF | NRA: Freedom Prevails Across the Country; George Bush Re-Elected, Daschle Defeated; Overwhelming 95% Success Rate Nationwide

Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

NRA: Freedom Prevails Across the Country; George Bush Re-Elected, Daschle Defeated; Overwhelming 95% Success Rate Nationwide

Thursday, November 4, 2004



Fairfax, VA-The National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund (NRA-PVF) earned a 95% success rate of endorsed congressional candidates winning their races.The Association also won two major battles over anti-hunting initiatives, as voters in Alaska and Maine rejected ballot issues banning bear hunting methods.

Of the 251 candidates endorsed by NRA for the U.S. House of Representatives, 241 candidates won. 14 of the 18 NRA-endorsed U.S. Senate candidates won their races.

"This election was crucial for the Second Amendment," said NRA Executive Vice President Wayne LaPierre. "The NRA stands for freedom, our members are defenders of freedom and we are proud to see that gun owners across the country came out and voted for freedom.


"I really hope that national Democratic leaders stop taking this party off the cliff and look at the heartland and the wreckage this issue has caused. They have to start putting up candidates who support gun rights and have a voting record to match their photo-ops," added LaPierre.


The election outcome continues a strong winning streak for NRA-PVF endorsed candidates. In 2000, NRA had an 85% success rate, followed by an 89% success rate in 2002. NRA's impressive numbers illustrate the strength of gun owners as a voting bloc each election cycle.


"We've seen a real political sea change in this country since Al Gore's defeat in 2000," added Chris W. Cox, NRA's chief lobbyist. "A number of anti-gun candidates attempted to hide their gun-control agendas to get elected.Fortunately, savvy gun owners saw through misleading campaign tactics and voted for true pro-gun candidates this election year," concluded Cox. Chris W. Cox serves as Chairman of NRA - PVF.


Top  pro-gun Senate winners are John Thune (SD), Mel Martinez (FL), Jim DeMint (SC), Johnny Isakson (GA), Richard Burr (NC), David Vitter (LA), Tom Coburn (OK), Lisa Murkowski (AK), Jim Bunning (KY) and Arlen Specter (PA).


Newly-elected pro-gun freshman in the House of Representatives include John Salazar (CO-3), Connie Mack (FL-14), Tom Price (GA-8), Mike Sodrel (IN-9), Geoff Davis (KY-4), Jeff Fortenberry (NE-1), Virginia Foxx (NC-5), Patrick McHenry (NC-10), Dan Boren (OK-2), Mike Fitzpatrick (PA-8), Charlie Dent (PA-15), Bob Inglis (SC-4), Louie Gohmert (TX-1), Ted Poe (TX-2), Mike McCaul (TX-10), Mike Conaway (TX-11), Kenny Marchant (TX-24), Henry Cuellar (TX-28), Thelma Drake (VA-2), and Cathy McMorris (WA-5).


Pro-gun incumbent Representatives re-elected are Rick Renzi (AZ-1), John Porter (NV-3), Bob Beauprez (CO-7), Pete Sessions (TX-32), Sam Graves (MO-6), Mark Kennedy (MN-6), Lee Terry (NE-2), Jim Gerlach (PA-6), Katherine Harris (FL-13), Jim Marshall-D (GA-3), John Hostettler (IN-8), Cathy McMorris (WA-5), and Shelley Moore Capito (WV-2).


-nra - pvf


The NRA Political Victory Fund (NRA-PVF) is NRA's political action committee. The NRA-PVF ranks political candidates — irrespective of party affiliation — based on voting records, public statements and their responses to an NRA-PVF questionnaire.